News Release

Santa Cruz County Clerk/Elections 701 Ocean St., Room 210 Santa Cruz, CA 95060

831-454-2060 / Fax: 831-454-2445

E-mail: gail.pellerin@santacruzcounty.us

Website: <u>www.votescount.com</u> & <u>www.sccoclerk.com</u>

June 10, 2016

Contact: Gail L. Pellerin, County Clerk

831-454-2419 / 408-316-9745 (cell)

Candidate Information Workshops for November Election

The November 2016 Presidential General Election is just months away and deadlines for persons interested in running for city office, school district or special district are quickly approaching.

In an effort to inform interested persons about the filing requirements and deadlines, the Santa Cruz County Clerk/Elections Department is co-sponsoring four Candidate Information Workshops, along with the Cities of Scotts Valley, Capitola, Watsonville and Santa Cruz. The Information Workshops will be held on:

- Monday, June 20: Scotts Valley Council Chambers, 1 Civic Center Drive, Scotts Valley, 6pm to 7:30pm.
- Wednesday, June 22: Watsonville Civic Center, Community Room, 275 Main Street, 4th Floor (6th floor of the parking garage), Watsonville, 6pm to 7:30pm.
- Wednesday, June 29: Capitola Community Room, 420 Capitola Avenue, Capitola, 6pm to 7:30pm.
- Thursday, June 30: Santa Cruz Council Chambers, 809 Center Street, Santa Cruz, 6pm to 7:30pm.

County Elections Officials will have Candidate's Handbooks available for persons interested in running for school and special districts. The City Clerks will have candidate materials for people interested in running for city office. The County Candidate's Handbook is also available online at www.votescount.com

Local offices up for election on November 8, 2016 include:

Board of Education and Community College

- Santa Cruz County Board of Education: 5 Governing Board Members: Trustee Areas: 2 (short term),
 3, 4, 5 and 6;
- Cabrillo Community College District: 4 Governing Board Members: Trustee Areas: 3, 4, 5 and 7;

Unified/High School Districts

- Aromas-San Juan Unified School District: 3 Governing Board Members;
- Los Gatos-Saratoga Joint Union High School District: 2 Governing Board Members;
- Pajaro Valley Unified School District: 3 Governing Board Members, Trustee Areas: 2, 3 and 6;

- San Lorenzo Valley Unified School District: 2 Governing Board Members, Trustee Areas: 3 and 5;
- Santa Cruz City School District: 3 Governing Board Members: 1 in Trustee Area 1 (inside city); 2 in Trustee Area 2 (outside city)
- Scotts Valley Unified School District: 3 Governing Board Members.

Elementary School Districts

- Bonny Doon Union Elementary School District: 2 Governing Board Members;
- Happy Valley Elementary School District: 3 Governing Board Members (2 full term, 1 short term);
- Lakeside Joint Elementary District: 3 Governing Board Members (2 full term, 1 short term);
- Live Oak School District: 3 Governing Board Members (2 full term, 1 short term);
- Loma Prieta Joint Union Elementary School District: 3 Governing Board Members (2 full term, 1 short term);
- Mountain Elementary School District: 4 Governing Board Members (3 full term, 1 short term);
- Pacific School District: 1 Governing Board Member;
- Soquel Union Elementary School District: 3 Governing Board Members.

Fire Protection Districts

- Aromas Tri-County Fire: 2 Directors;
- Aptos/La Selva Fire: 3 Directors;
- Ben Lomond Fire: 3 Directors;
- Boulder Creek Fire: 3 Directors;
- Branciforte Fire: 3 Directors;
- Central Fire: 4 Directors;
- Felton Fire: 3 Directors;
- Pajaro Valley Fire: 3 Directors;
- Scotts Valley Fire: 3 Directors;
- Zayante Fire: 4 Directors (3 full term, 1 short term).

Water Districts

- Central Water: 2 Directors;
- Pajaro Valley Water Management Agency: 2 Directors; Divisions B and D;
- San Lorenzo Valley Water: 2 Directors;
- Scotts Valley Water: 3 Directors (2 full term, 1 short term);
- Soquel Creek Water: 3 Directors (2 full term, 1 short term).

Port District

• Santa Cruz Port District: 3 Commissioners.

Recreation Districts

- Boulder Creek Recreation and Park District: 3 Directors;
- La Selva Beach Recreation District: 4 Directors (3 full term, 1 short term).

Miscellaneous Districts

- Pajaro Dunes Geologic Hazard Abatement: 2 Directors (elected by property owners)
- Santa Cruz County Resource Conservation District: 4 Directors (appointed by Board of Supervisors pursuant to Resolution No. 96-05-01).

Cities

- Capitola: 2 Councilmembers: Edward A. Bottorff and Dennis Norton.
 1 Treasurer: Christine McBroom.
- Santa Cruz: 4 Councilmembers, Don Lane, Cynthia Mathews, Pamela Comstock and Micah Posner.
- Scotts Valley: 3 Councilmembers: Randy Johnson, Dene Bustichi, and Donna Lind.
- Watsonville: 3 Councilmembers District 1, Felipe Hernandez; District 2, Karina Cervantez Alejo; District 6, Trina Coffman-Gomez.

Persons interested in running for any of the school or special district offices may attend any of the four Candidate Information Workshops in June. Persons interested in running for a city office should attend the workshop in the city where they are interested in running.

The candidate filing period begins July 18 and ends August 12, 2016. Candidates for city council must obtain candidate papers from their City Clerk. Candidates for school and special districts must file at the County Clerk/Elections Department at 701 Ocean St., Room 210 in Santa Cruz. Candidates include incumbents and any challengers. If the incumbent does not file for office by the deadline of 5pm Friday, August 12, 2016, then filing will be extended for five calendar days for anyone other than the incumbent to file.

For more information, please call the Elections Department at 831-454-2060 or visit our website at www.votescount.com